UPDATE: What Do You Want Your Eulogy To Be?

Posted: December 7, 2012 in Christians and The Church, Healings, Prophecy

Over the past month or so myself and several others have been going after terminal illnesses with great passion. It’s something the Lord’s put on our hearts and we see it as a clear command in the Word. And over this time we’ve won some battles and lost some. Several people have passed away and that’s been really tough on our hearts, yet it hasn’t quite had the result the enemy would’ve wanted. Instead of being discouraged, we’ve (or at least I have) found a new resolve…

We’ll come back to that in a second, but let me ask you something:

WHAT DO YOU WANT YOUR EULOGY TO BE?

Why am I asking this question? Because I’ve realized that all too often we think in the parameters of time, not eternity. What matters is how many souls enter the Kingdom, how many people experience the Love of God and that we use our short time here for something meaningful. Worldly roadblocks and challenges mean nothing in the light of eternity, except were we faithful?

When I read over the lives of men like Smith Wigglesworth, John G. Lake, John Wesley, and Lester Sumrall my heart is stirred. They displayed that righteousness, miracles, and the “greater works” aren’t just for the Apostles of the Bible, they’re for the modern Christian.

What did they all have in common? They knew they were nothing without Jesus, they believed God is who He says He is, they communed with the Holy Spirit, and they had ever-increasing faith. I think it’s time we take the Word of God, the testimonies of those before us, and the unction of the Holy Spirit deep into our hearts and actually shake the world with the Gospel of Jesus Christ! Let’s be a people that both those who remain alive on this earth past us and our Savior Jesus will say, “Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little…Enter into the joy of your master.”

1136764_21619849

My Eulogy

Now that I’ve posed the question to you, it is only fair that I answer the question for you. I want my eulogy or story to read something to the affect of…

Ryan Michael Rhodes was a man after God’s own heart that carried a profound passion, drive and resolve towards the things of the Kingdom of God. He stands out amongst the many ‘Father’s of the Faith’ in that he wouldn’t accept the mundane or ordinary but instead chose to endeavor into the unknown depths of glory and intimacy with His Creator, so much so that nothing could deter Him or His faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. Truly, he will be an example for generations of believers to look to for a glimpse of what it looks like to achieve the things that Jesus paid for on the Cross. He has run his race and has finished well. For in this man the world has been given an example of what it looks like to be a son of God following in the footsteps of Jesus, led by the Holy Spirit. 

My Resolve

With God’s grace, I am going to strive to live a life of eternal consequence, never forgetting the importance of the ever advancing Kingdom. I am going to stand against the Kingdom of Darkness even when no one else will stand with me. I am going to see death bow because Jesus defeated death on the Cross. I will go deeper in God’s presence than I can even perceive at this time. I will keep the faith. I will run my race. I will live a life worthy of the above eulogy.

I now rejoice in my sufferings for you, and fill up in my flesh what is lacking in the afflictions of Christ, for the sake of His body, which is the church, of which I became a minister according to the stewardship from God which was given to me for you, to fulfill the word of God, the mystery which has been hidden from ages and from generations, but now has been revealed to His saints. To them God willed to make known what are the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles: which is Christ in you, the hope of glory. Him we preach, warning every man and teaching every man in all wisdom, that we may present every man perfect in Christ Jesus. To this end I also labor, striving according to His working which works in me mightily.

Colossians 1:24-29 NKJV

In Closing

I exhort you to prayerfully figure out what you are to be remembered for. What is the eternal perspective of you life? What does it look like for your life to reflect being a son/daughter of the Creator of the universe? Leave a legacy worthy of the salvation you’ve been given.

I, therefore, the prisoner of the Lord, beseech you to walk worthy of the calling with which you were called, with all lowliness and gentleness, with longsuffering, bearing with one another in love, endeavoring to keep the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace. There isone body and one Spirit, just as you were called in one hope of your calling; one Lord, one faith, one baptism; one God and Father of all, who is above all, and through all, and in you all.

Ephesians 4:1-6

Please keep me and my crew at FIRE in your prayers. Be blessed!

To God Be All The Glory!

Comments
  1. Todd Deckard says:

    Ryan Beautiful piece! Please agree with me in prayer. I had a complete removal of my thyroid gland last week because of thyroid cancer. We won’t know if the cancer is gone or if its spread to other areas for about six more weeks. I believe but help my unbelief Lord. Thank you for any prayers and or prophetic words. In Jesus name, Todd

  2. David Wade says:

    Todd, you’re healed bro.

Leave a Reply

