Tonight as we worshipped I received a text message through the prayer line. It was from a man named Todd whom I’ve never met and I’m really not sure how he even found my blog, but it was certainly divine appointment. Here’s our conversation that happened via text message:

Todd: Hi Ryan. I love Yr site. Just found it. I have a very earnest prayer request. 9:09 PM

Todd: My name is todd. I would really be appreciative if u could pray for my total recovery from cigarette addiction and healing from damage from smoking. And 9:11 PM

Todd: ANY prophetic word from the Lord about what He thinks of me. God bless u. I need God s help and presence. 9:11 PM

Me: Well my brother, here’s what God thinks of you: He says you’re chosen (Romans 8:28-31), He says you’re made powerful in Him (John 14:12), and He says your Loved (Romans 8:37-39). I will pray for you and send you anything God gives me for you. Love you my brother. 9:37 PM

Me: God, I pray you just surround Todd with Your presence now Lord. Just coat him in comfort and peace. God, we know you’re the perfect father and You Love to pour out Your Love on Your children. Papa, I just ask that You pour out Your Love on Your son. Let him physically feel Your arms wrap around him. 9:41 PM

Me: Holy Spirit, began to let him feel Your healing power flow throughout his lungs as You remove all scar tissue and damage done by smoking. We know that Jesus died on the cross and defeated sin and death. And in death is sickness and disease so we stand on the authority of Jesus Christ and the power of the Holy Spirit and say BE HEALED in the name of JESUS! Father, we thank you for grace and we ask that You be his strength. 9:48 PM

Me: Holy Spirit, bring strong conviction to where the very sight or smell of a cigarette makes him sick to his stomach. Let it be part of his testimony as people see how you broke it off his life. At the same time as you remove this that’s physical killing him God begin to weed out the things in his life spiritually killing him. God, even now let more of Your presence and Love rest upon him. 9:52 PM

Me: So we just declare complete and total healing in the name of Jesus. Amen 10:03 PM

Me: How do you feel? 10:08 PM

(At this point I was wondering how affective a prayer via text message could be)

Todd: Brother thank u. I can’t begin to tell u how I felt the presence of God and the Holy Spirit just move thru me as I read Yr words. I believe them and I believe God has healed me! Jesus defeated my addiction! The Holy Spirit flooded me like almost like a wind moving inside me! I believe That I will be able 10:09 PM

Todd: to minister to others and point them to Abba Father who loved me enough to send His Son for me and conquer this world for me 10:09 PM

Todd: And I could feel Him wrap Himself around me 10:10 PM

Todd: I know that I am healed. Thank u so much it is u reflecting Jesus and being so willing to pray for the hurting and lost That drew me to bring a prayer request to you 10:14 PM

(Jesus smacked me after Todd’s healing haha)

Me: A group is praying for you. Heres what we’re getting: 10:15 PM

Todd: I’ve agonized over thus addiction for so many years. Its been a stumbling block in my walk w Jesus for so long. But no more! 10:15 PM

(^That’s the freedom found in Jesus^)

Me: God is your defense. One person kept seeing shields and armor and towers and they all represented His defending you. And for so long you’ve tried to fight and God wants you to know its finished. You will even feel the need to keep fighting out habit but no more. 10:23 PM

Todd: Praise God thank u thank u. So true I have tried so many legalistic ways to ‘earn’ my way into right standing w God and I have battled addiction all my adult life. I will remember with God’s help each hour that He is my defense 10:27 PM

Me: That’s Jesus my brother! 10:30 PM

Me: He Loves you! 10:32 PM

Todd: Thank u thank u most of all Jesus and I will seek Him daily 10:33 PM

Me: I will be praying for you 10:37 PM

Todd: God bless u. I will be praying for you and Yr ministry. Jesus still heals and saves 10:39 PM

Me: Yes He does! 10:40 PM

(God really touched my heart with this part)

Todd: Father I just love you and thank you for What You have done, are doing and will do in all our lives and I lift up Ryan Your servant and ask that You daily 10:48 PM

Todd: strengthen and shield him. That you would strengthen him to continue leading people to You. That he continue to please You by loving those broken and 10:48 PM

Todd: hurting around him the way our king Jesus loves. Again we love you Father and You Alone are worthy the most High. Thank you That You have heard us abba 10:48 PM

Todd: father and thank you for your Son Jesus and for your Holy Spirit. Amen in Jesus name. 10:48 PM

Todd: Thanks Ryan I will be in touch. God bless and strengthen you 10:49 PM

Me: Thank you!

Jesus really healed someone via text message… He never ceases to amaze me! Moral of the story, there’s no limits on the power of the Holy Spirit! Amen.

“But if the Spirit of Him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, He who raised Christ Jesus from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through His Spirit who dwells in you.” Romans 8:11

If you connected with these words and are interested in sowing into my ministry as I travel and preach the Gospel, please click HERE.
If you’re interested in me speaking at your church, email me at ryanrhodesbooking@gmail.com and I will get back to you as soon as possible. Be blessed!

To God Be All The Glory!

Comments
  1. ryanmrhodes says:

    Just to add to this, Todd texted me today to tell me how he woke up without any craving to smoke. Also he said that he’s seen 3 different people smoking today and felt grossed out every time. Jesus breaks every chain! 🙂

Leave a Reply

